Skip to content

The Daring Cooks: apple butter

September 16, 2010

One of the main reasons I started this blog was to force myself to write.  Unlike how I imagine many bloggers out there, the gift of writing was not given to me.  I have no inexplicable urge to express myself.  However, I believe that writing is important, and so I continue to push myself.  In science and engineering it is all too easy to ignore the pen until you are forced into writing that grant or paper in order to get funding.  Yet at this stage of my career, the majority of my work is still in the lab.

I love to cook, to photograph, but the vast majority of the time that I sit at this computer, I feel writers’ block.  What do I say?

Please do not think this is complaining.  I love the push.  I embrace the challenge and need the sculpting.  What I hate is the silence, that quiet in my head which is louder than screams.  And so I turn away; I abandon my efforts for that easier path.  I delay.  I do not write.

“Do not lose heart,” someone just walked in the room and said to me.  He was speaking on a completely different matter, but the juxtaposition of that sentiment with this one seems fitting.

What all this means, I cannot tell you.  Except that I continue.  I will write, and I will grow.  But at times like these when I delay certain certain posts, just know that I am here.  Waiting for the silence to end.

The September 2010 Daring Cooks’ challenge was hosted by John of Eat4Fun. John chose to challenge The Daring Cooks to learn about food preservation, mainly in the form of canning and freezing. He challenged everyone to make a recipe and preserve it. John’s source for food preservation information was from The National Center for Home Food Preservation.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 8:11 am

    I’m one of those bloggers who loves to write, and I really admire you sticking with it when it doesn’t come easily. Oh, and the apple butter looks delicious!

  2. September 21, 2010 9:31 am

    Join the club :/ For me, blogging forces me to be funny and happy even when I don’t necessarily feel like it. Generally, it actually ends up making me happier – odd how that works, huh? Do not lose heart, indeed.

Leave a Reply

