Skip to content

World Peace Cookie Dough Ice Cream and stories of my youth

September 23, 2010

Back when I was a little girl, I had a favorite doll, a porcelain doll.  While I still remember every detail of her from her pink dress with white lace to her long, sandy curls, I cannot remember her name.  I just remember how much love I had for her and how much comfort she gave me.  There were many nights when I would sneak out of bed to get my favorite porcelain doll and sneak her back in with me.  I was definitely not allowed to sleep with this doll since the porcelain might break and cut me in my sleep.  So, of course, I would hide her under the covers so my mom would not find her when she came in to wake me.  I would then fluff her curls, straighten her pretty pink dress, and return her to her rightful place on my shelf.  I was pretty sneaky.

I still have this doll, in a box, tucked away in the back of a closet.  I see her about once every-other year or so and am continuously amazed at how ratty she looks.  My memory is blinded by love; in it, she is beautiful.  I suppose this is what happens when you sleep with your fancy things, and I am forced to realize that my parents must have known.

Also, when I was little, my mom would very occasionally leave a bowl of M&M’s out on the counter.  I was convinced that my mom counted these both in the morning and at night, and consequently, I was certain that she would know if I took one.  I imagined the punishment for such action would be grave.  Of course, little Charli was not completely without logic:  if the bowl was very full, I would sometimes take one, or maybe even two because–as I reasoned it–if my mom reached the end of the bowl having counted 994 instead of 995 candies, she would assume she had miscounted somewhere in there, and would not go back and re-count.  However, once the bowl decreased to a more managable 20 or so candies, I would steer very clear of the bowl.  I was a cautious, maybe even paranoid, child.

Why I thought I could get away with sleeping with my doll but not sneaking a handful of candies out of a full jar the world may never know.

Like many children, I loved cookie dough ice cream; it was my favorite.  I was not frequently allowed to eat it, however, due to a minor milk allergy (which I thankfully outgrew!).  Every time I was given a choice of ice cream flavors, I would invariably revert to my trusty cookie dough.   Now that I’m older, I like to explore a variety of flavors, but I’m still a sucker for a good cookie dough ice cream.  I get about 2 spoonfuls in, and I’m overcome with memories of a fantastic childhood.

World Peace Cookie Dough Ice Cream

This recipe is adapted from two recipes in the marvelous Dorie Greenspan‘s Baking from my Home to YoursI realized that the dough was meant for ice cream one time when I inadvertently ate the entire recipe, tiny bit by tiny bit, from the freezer before I had a chance to bake it.  Oops!  As an added benefit, there is no raw egg in the cookie dough recipe, so it is worry free.  Also, I use a vanilla ice cream base, but I could definitely see this working famously with all sorts of other flavors–let me know if you try any!  If the cookies don’t bring about world peace, this ice cream might just do the trick.

For the cookie dough:
1/2 cup plus 2 Tbsp all-purpose flour
1/6 cup (2 Tbsp plus 1 tsp) unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
5.5 tablespoons unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/3 cup (packed) light brown sugar
2 Tbsp sugar
1/4 teaspoon fleur de sel or 1/8 teaspoon fine sea salt
1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
2.5 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped into chips, or a generous 3/4 cup store-bought mini chocolate chips
Your favorite ice cream base, about 1 quarts worth

Whisk together flower, cocoa powder, baking soda.  In another bowl, beat the butter until it is nice and soft; I just use a wooden spoon, but you can use a mixer as well.  Then add both sugars, salt, and vanilla and continue beating for about 2 more minutes.  Add the dry ingredients, mixing to just combine.  Then add the chocolate, mix, form into a log, wrap in plastic wrap, and leave to rest in the freezer, at least 2 hours.  (Note: I form into a log as if i were making cookies because it is easy to chop up later; however, since the are not specifically for cookies, feel free to shape however you like.)

Meanwhile, whip up your favorite ice cream base.  When it is ready to churn, make it in the ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instruction.  While churning, chop the cookie dough log into bite sized pieces.  As soon as the ice cream is done, stir in the cookie dough pieces, and transfer to a container to freeze.  Freeze until hardened, at least 2 hours.

Enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 8:31 am

    Love the last photo.

  2. September 24, 2010 3:13 pm

    I agree with Tracy! and its funny how warped our childhood brains are. Cookie is my favorite too! and hmmmm I do have some cookie dough in the fridge though… 🙂

  3. September 27, 2010 10:39 pm

    What a delicious looking scoop of ice cream. Those cookie chunks in it are the best part.

Leave a Reply

